And now for something a little different…

Coronavirus Survivor’s Log- Day 10? 11? Yikes! I’m starting to lose count!

I have to apologize for my absence yesterday. I spent the morning at the doctor’s office, which, in and of itself is a surreal experience. It was made more so by the (finally!) diagnosis of a Cerebral Spinal Fluid leak from my nose that I have been struggling with for the past three weeks. It’s a weird time to think about CT scans and non-invasive brain procedures, but better than getting meningitis and way better than the constant headaches, leaky faucet that looks like a nose on my face and deep fatigue that I thought was just a worse than average allergy season. In some way, it comes at a really great time when work has slowed to a snail’s slither and I’m forced to stay home. Anyway, all that to say that the all morning appointment kind of stripped me of my will to move from the couch yesterday, so sorry I didn’t show up for our ten minute coffee and writing date.

Today, I was feeling artsy…mostly because I got to return for a bit to the mural my sister and I have been working on since this summer today…and it got me thinking about the healing sensation of paint under my nails and color on my mind. So I thought I would share with you an art prompt from Shelly Klammer’s Symbolic Journeys class.

I chose to do the collage prompt and combine it with some free form poetry.

from Shelley Klammer, Symbolic Journeys

The prompt is “Night,” and here is what Shelley has to say about that symbology:

The night sometimes symbolizes a loss of faith. Who or what have you lost faith in recently? 

Shelley Klammer, Symbolic Journeys

Here is your mission:

You can Collage: Create a “dark” collage using dark colors, or imagery that feels emotionally dark to you. I’ve done this and added my work down below.

Or you can do a Painting/Drawing: Create a drawing or a painting that reflects what you have lost faith in. What do you most want to have faith in? Is it love, kindness, abundance, or something different? Write or illustrate this quality on top of your drawing.

Or you can stay with the writing theme and answer the question “What do you most want to have faith in?” Write for ten minutes….GO!

Here’s mine:

Night by Cari Kaufman

Leave a comment