My Favorite Ice Breaker for Women’s Groups

This is really hard.  I feel like I am giving you the Secret Sauce guys, for free.  Without even asking for you to enter your email address (you could be the way…go to the ‘Contact Us’ tab and fill out the form.) All of my internet marketing/social media guru friends are rolling over in their pajamas and squirming in their affiliate webinars right now.  Please forgive me, my ‘gurus’. I am apparently a terrible student. ;)

Back in November, I promised a new direction. I promised to provide the “resources” I say that I offer.  You’ll notice the Resources tab has become more robust- with suggestions of books that have made a difference in my ministry as  well as the opportunity to order Living Life with Strings Attached.  You’ll also notice that I have changed my speaker’s fees.  Please think of me for your next women’s event or conference.  I would love to share this message God has laid on my heart with your group.  But more than that I have been watching. Watching what search words bring you to this site.  Watching where you link from.  Trying to discern what value I can provide to you now.

The overwhelming winner of the top search that brings people here to this site is ” Icebreaker for women’s ministry.” I have tons.  Crazy amounts of them, but I have never shared them with the public as a whole outside of my speaking events.  There is a part of me that is reluctant to share these little nuggets of value, but I have come to realize they were a gift given for me to give away, they are not mine to keep.  So here goes.  Please feel free to use these, to ask questions, to provide comments and otherwise interact with me.  I sometimes wonder if I am alone out here!

Because it is late and I am tired, I am only going to share one Ice Breaker tonight, but know there are more to follow.  This particular exercise is the signature ice breaker at Strings Attached events.  It’s called “Me, too!”

“Me, Too!”

Supplies needed:  Spool of twine or string at least 100ft long for each group of 8-10 ladies

Notes: If your group is larger than 10, you’ll want to break up into smaller groups of 8-10 people.

“Me, Too!”  is the signature Strings Attached activity.  I use this activity to start just about every retreat or workshop I do.  It is the perfect way to get a group to open up and start talking about themselves while learning how much they have in common with each other.  Remember, the focus is to share little tidbits of information about yourself.

Give each group a spool of string. Choose someone to start by telling their group something about themselves such as:

  • My favorite color is green.
  • I like to sing in the shower.
  • I have two children.
  • I dip my pizza in ranch dressing.

Once the person with the string says something that applies to another person in the group, that person calls out, “Me, too!” The first person holds on to the end of the string and passes the spool to the other person.  If more than one person has a “me, too” then the string passes to all those people, and ends at the last person to say “me,too.” The person with the ball of spool then says something else about themselves.  In the end, a group will end up with a web of connections.  Have each lady count the number of “me,toos” she had and point out how much the groups have in common with each other.

So what do you think? What’s your favorite icebreaker?

Comment by Midnight, January 20, 2011, and one lucky commenter will win a copy of Group’s Icebreaker’s Galore: The Ultimate Game Guide for Girlfriends.

21 thoughts on “My Favorite Ice Breaker for Women’s Groups

  1. Pingback: My Top Five Picks: Mixers and Icebreakers « Strings Attached Ministries

  2. love it! Our church is too small to separate women’s groups by common demographics, like age/marital status/college/moms, etc., so this kind of activity is a great way to find common interests and make connections when the natural flow of conversation might become stagnant. Thanks!

  3. I work at a psychiatric facility and I recently started a group just for women. They love things like this. It’s so important for them to know that they are connected to one another and that they are not alone. Thanks for sharing :-)

  4. Oh thank you! We are going on our annual college student beach retreat this weekend and I am desperately seeking an icebreaker! This is the first one I read after I googled and I love it. :). We have a lot of new girls this semester and our guest speaker will talk about valuing one another as sisters in Christ. Perfect!

  5. Thanks for sharing your God given talents….the women at the church I recently joined seem separate in so many ways , so I’m praying and seeking ways to help build the Christian connection that is needed for women, May God continue to lead you as you share with the many women who will search for help!

  6. Pingback: My Top Five Picks: Get-to-Know-You Activities « Strings Attached Ministries

  7. I LOVE this and will be doing it at our small volunteers meeting for children’s ministry!!! Thank you…this was just what I was looking for…something simple and something we women could connect with!

  8. So excited about this icebreaker, I am going to use this at our first MOPS meeting for the year. So glad I found this, thank you.

  9. Going to be doing an icebreaker for a Ladies’ Retreat that will involve 5 different churches. This will be a great way for everyone to feel connected!!

  10. Love this idea and plan to use it as a group building exercise for a youth retreat next month. This is exactly what I was looking for.

Leave a Reply

